Knowledge Base
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
Orbit API

Delete a member

Available on Starter, Growth, Premium & Enterprise plans
Available on Growth, Premium & Enterprise plans
Available on Premium & Enterprise plans
Available on the Enterprise plan

Sometimes you'll want to remove members from your workspace. They might be company accounts who have mentioned you on Twitter, GitHub bots that create a lot of noise, or maybe the person is just spammy.

Delete a member

To delete a member from your workspace, navigate to their Member Profile, go to the [...] menu and click the Delete icon.

Go to the [...] menu to find the delete option

You’ll then be greeted with the following modal.

Click ‘Delete’ to delete the member from your workspace

This modal allows you to either 1) delete the member for now or 2) delete the member permanently from your workspace.

Delete a member for now

You may notice that in the Delete modal, we list all of the member’s identities that we know of along with checkmarks.

If you would like to simply delete this member for now, ignore the checkmarks and click ‘Delete’.

This removes the member from your workspace and deletes all of their activities and identities.

Please note: If this member participates in your community in the future i.e. mentions your community on Twitter again, posts in your Slack, they will be recreated in your workspace. If you do not want this to happen, please read about the section below.

Delete a member permanently

If you would like to permanently exclude a member from your workspace, you need to block their identities.

A blocked member will not get re-created if, for example, they mention your account again or post in your Slack community.

How do I make this work?

Simply click the checkmark next to the member identity that you wish to block (e.g. GitHub handle, Twitter handle, email address).

If members or activities are found in the future with any of these blocked identities, they will not be added to your workspace.

Bulk-delete members

To delete multiple members from your workspace, go to the Members tab and use the checkboxes to select the members you want to delete. Then click ‘Delete’ on the table menu, and you’re done!

Related articles

Still stuck?
or